Skip to content
Gateshead Counts — Gateshead, in numbers.Local help →

Gateshead, in numbers

People and living standards

Gateshead council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gateshead council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 201,682 in 1991 to 202,509 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gateshead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 197,183 people in 1996; 202,509 people in 2025. 2.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991201,682
1992201,290
1993200,673
1994199,629
1995198,473
1996197,183
1997195,935
1998194,344
1999193,276
2000191,912
2001191,178
2002191,559
2003192,115
2004192,317
2005192,857
2006193,615
2007194,934
2008196,078
2009197,481
2010198,731
2011200,349
2012200,252
2013200,299
2014200,728
2015201,271
2016201,359
2017200,660
2018199,915
2019198,435
2020197,342
2021196,179
2022198,321
2023199,876
2024201,422
2025202,509
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gateshead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 38,776 people in 1996; 34,977 people in 2025. 9.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199138,761
199238,988
199339,261
199439,487
199539,218
199638,776
199738,591
199838,173
199937,817
200037,258
200136,881
200236,505
200336,184
200435,770
200535,259
200635,093
200734,909
200834,741
200934,832
201035,024
201135,515
201235,175
201334,916
201434,990
201534,876
201635,123
201734,974
201834,840
201934,690
202034,609
202134,395
202234,885
202335,061
202435,199
202534,977
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gateshead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 125,234 people in 1996; 125,561 people in 2025. 0.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991129,746
1992129,073
1993128,113
1994127,008
1995126,156
1996125,234
1997124,176
1998123,074
1999122,350
2000121,585
2001121,140
2002121,753
2003122,333
2004122,800
2005123,839
2006124,753
2007126,046
2008127,235
2009128,218
2010128,814
2011129,423
2012128,651
2013128,244
2014127,995
2015128,173
2016127,625
2017126,806
2018125,997
2019124,264
2020123,014
2021121,801
2022123,021
2023123,979
2024124,790
2025125,561
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gateshead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,173 people in 1996; 41,971 people in 2025. 26.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,175
199233,229
199333,299
199433,134
199533,099
199633,173
199733,168
199833,097
199933,109
200033,069
200133,157
200233,301
200333,598
200433,747
200533,759
200633,769
200733,979
200834,102
200934,431
201034,893
201135,411
201236,426
201337,139
201437,743
201538,222
201638,611
201738,880
201839,078
201939,481
202039,719
202139,983
202240,415
202340,836
202441,433
202541,971
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 196,149 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gateshead · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,9252.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,2141.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,3931.2%
White183,48993.5%
Other ethnic group3,1281.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 200,214 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gateshead · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White192,74296.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5580.8%
Asian/Asian British3,7381.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,0810.5%
Other ethnic group1,0950.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 191,151 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gateshead · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White188,09898.4%
Mixed7980.4%
Asian/Asian British1,2890.7%
Black/Black British2890.2%
Chinese/Other6770.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gateshead council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,429 per person in 1997; £19,745 per person in 2024. 134.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,429
19988,635
19998,788
20009,221
20019,790
20029,993
200310,317
200410,795
200510,910
200611,213
200711,465
200811,622
200912,277
201012,457
201112,591
201213,300
201313,620
201413,960
201514,498
201614,686
201715,012
201815,586
201916,328
202016,346
202116,995
202217,533
202318,657
202419,745
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gateshead council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -20.6% in 1997; -24% in 2024. 3.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gateshead council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-20.6
1998-20.2
1999-22.3
2000-22.5
2001-20.9
2002-21
2003-20.9
2004-20.5
2005-22.4
2006-23.4
2007-25.3
2008-26.2
2009-23.3
2010-22.9
2011-22.7
2012-21.3
2013-22.2
2014-22.8
2015-23.8
2016-23.7
2017-23.8
2018-23.6
2019-22.5
2020-22.1
2021-22.2
2022-23.6
2023-23.7
2024-24
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.1%

21 March 2021 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.6%

21 March 2021 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.4%

21 March 2021 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£156,000

July 2026 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£804

August 2026 · Gateshead council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.